Recipe: Mini Pumpkin Pies

As promised in my little update post, here is the mini pumpkin pies recipe. I was a little doubtful about my baking abilities since I have never baked a pie, ever. But, I proved myself wrong and I should have made double the amount because everyone loved them.

So, if I can do it. You can do it. I am hoping to make these for Christmas as well to perfect my skills and make them look a little prettier. Here it goes, bake away.

Mini Pumpkin Pies

Makes 12 mini pies

What you need:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 2  eggs
  • 1 can (15 oz.) 100% pure pumpkin
  • 1 can (12 fl. oz.)  evaporated milk
  • 2 nine-inch pie crust dough premade or make your own
  • bowl or round cookie cutter 4 inches in diameter
  • muffin/ cupcake tin
  • whipped cream

What to do:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

For the pie filling:

In a small bowl, mix together the sugar, cinnamon, salt, ginger and cloves. In a larger bowl beat the eggs. Then, stir in the pumpkin and sugar and spice mixture from the small bowl. Lastly, gradually stir in evaporated milk.

For the dough:

Roll out your pie dough and using a bowl or 4 inch round cookie cutter, cut out circles. Place each circle into a greased muffin tin. And I mean grease the heck out of that thing. I learned the hard way that you really need to grease the pan or you’ll be stuck scraping you pies out for hours. Learn from my mistake. Next, poke holes in the bottom of dough to keep the crust from bubbling. Lastly, pour the filling into the tops of the dough.

100_2173Bake the pies for 15 minutes at 425 degrees. Then turn the heat down to 350 degrees and them for about 25 to 30 minutes.

IMG_0013Let the pies then cool on a wire rack for about 2 hours. Top with some whipped cream and you have some pretty amazing mini pumpkin pies.

Sorry for the lack of great pictures, but once I make them again I will supply better photos.

Enjoy!

5 comments

  1. Ever since I made pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving, John has been begging me to make it again. These mini pies are great, I will definitely have to try this. The muffin pan idea is genius too, thanks to Pinterest I’ve found more ways to use a muffin pan than I ever thought possible hahah.

    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

