Weekend Recap: Shopping, Birthdays, and Tamales

One more week until that glorious day: CHRISTMAS. When I think about it, it’s a little scary since I still have a lot to do before then, like getting through the work week without becoming Scrooge, finish shopping, wrapping, baking, party planning, and cleaning. Crossing my fingers I find enough hours in the day for all this.

Despite my holiday stress this past weekend finally put me in the Christmas spirit. Friday I got a chunk of Christmas shopping done and I didn’t go broke! I still have three more gifts to buy, one is for my brother who is the hardest person to shop for God, help me.

Saturday was spent cleaning which was disgustingly overdue. Then we headed over my great- grandma’s house to celebrate her 96th birthday! She is one of the greatest women I know with a huge heart and still a very sharp wit. At 96 she is still moving around gracefully, has the best selection of blue sweaters, and is one of the fastest people I’ve seen with a fly swatter. Everyone in the family is very blessed to be around her and I cannot wait to spend another Christmas with her and the rest of my family. Cousins from up North, hurry up and get here!

picstitch3

Sunday was dedicated to a family tradition. My mom gathered us together to make green chili chicken and red chili pork tamales. Although she had us slaving away spreading the masa and wrapping the corn husks just right, it was so great to see my brother and Ashley. I missed his stupid humor.

photo picstitchpicstitch2

And now it’s back to work. Thankfully it is already Tuesday, but the clock is ticking away for all the things that need to be completed in a week. I hope everyone has a wonderful week and a very minimal amount of holiday stress.

Keep your head held high, and let the “To Do Lists” writing begin.

4 comments

  1. My Christmas spirit was pretty belated this year, but once I started putting ornaments on the tree man was I feeling festive! It looks like you had an awesome weekend, and your grandma looks amazing for 96! Good luck shopping for your brother, I always have the hardest time picking out gifts for my 3 brothers. Men are impossible to shop for. Happy holidays girl!

    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

