DIY: Scrabble Frames

For Christmas I had made these frames for a few friends and family members. I had been holding off on posting this because I was still waiting to give the last frame away. They were all successfully given away to the rightful owners in January. Yea, I lagged.

Anyways, these are really easy to make and make great gifts for home decor.

What you need:

  • A frame
  • Scrapbook paper
  • Wooden Scrabble pieces
  • Glue
  • Scissors

DSCN0044

DSCN0045
For the frame I used a 5″ x 7″ frame that I bought at target. Be sure that it is a floating frame where the glass does not lay on top of the picture, you will need some space for the Scrabble pieces to fit between the glass and the backing of the frame.

DSCN0048

Cut the scrapbook paper into the proper dimensions of the your frame.

DSCN0041

Gather your scrabble pieces together. I bought these off of Amazon but they can also be bought at any craft store.

DSCN0050

Lay out your pieces on the center of your paper. Be sure to give yourself enough space around the edges so that a scrabble piece is not covered by the rim of the frame. Once your pieces are aligned in the desired position start gluing.

Once all the pieces are glued to the paper, let your masterpiece dry for a few hours before placing it in the frame.

DSCN0052

Once the letters are dry, place into the frame. You can make the frames with two words as shown here for my friend who is a true country girl. I also made one that said zumba queen, connecting the two words with the ‘u’. And also love you by connecting the two words with the ‘o’.

Or you can use just one word as demonstrated above for my friend Erika, which said hermana.

I am afraid when I move out every room in my house my have at least one scrabble frame. Happy scrabbling.

Keep your head held high.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

