Lessons Learned: Having a Big Girl Job

Good morning sunshine, it’s been a while.

I have good news and bad, but not too bad, whatever- news.

The good news is that I have been permanently hired at my job. That’s right, I’m no longer an unworthy contractor who is like the black sheep child of the company. I am now legit. With paid vacation, a raise, and the option of having benefits. I would have never thought I would be so excited about something like choosing my health benefits or not. Oh, how boring am I?

The bad, but not too bad, whatever- news is that I have been swamped with overtime. I guess that’s a good thing for my bank account, but it has left me pretty drained and tired. I feel like a grandma. This explains the dreaded week and a half of not blogging. Eee. Please forgive me.

This past week it finally hit me, I have a big girl job. Although I’ve been at the same company for the past year and a half, having that permanent position is when it finally hit me, I’m in the real world.

As much as I wish I was still folding clothes at the old surf shop or being a gymnastics coach at the YMCA, there is a lot that I have grown from and things that have made me survive in the real world.

paths

Life seems to be all about the paths you take and what you make of it.

Lessons learned:

1. Don’t let anyone underestimate you

Being young in this crazy corporate world, people, mostly the old stale geezers, treat you like a child. Your ideas, suggestions, and resolutions to problems are tossed out the window because of your age. What do I know? But from having a twenty-something supervisor who has worked his ass off getting to where he is now, has taught me to not let anyone undermine you. Although I hated him at the time, he pushed me to have a voice and stand my ground. Now all those old farts who told me I didn’t know what I was doing in the beginning come to me for help and advice. Being young we are equip with quick minds, education, and the ability to be the upcoming successors, many people who have been here in the workplace may not like that. But why should we bring ourselves down to the comfort zone of the people who have been here for years? Why should we allow them to cripple our success and youth?

2. Adapt to change

The second thing that has benefited me greatly and has gotten me to where I am this far is adapting to change. While everyone else is busy complaining about having to learn a new process, be the one who is perfecting the process. You’ll soon be the youthful- go-to person. I kicked myself for complaining and whining about my supervisor when we got the news that the roles have changed and we are getting a new supervisor. We all begged for him to not leave us for another group, but the only thing we could do is accept and adapt to our new supervisor. Trust me, whether change is good or bad, do yourself a favor and just adapt to it instead of fighting it. Your work ethic will be viewed as positive and driven.

3. Let your hard work be known

From the first day I started at my job right out of college I learned two great words: Speak Up. If you need help, speak up. If you have an idea, speak up. If you have an opinion, speak up. If you have succeeded, speak up. I’ve learned making your voice known puts your name out there. When you have been praised by another company member through an email or voicemail, save it. You may use it at a later date for leverage to a raise or new position. When I went to my manager to request an increase in compensation, I was so scared. Worried I was being too pushy, or maybe even undeserving of the raise since it hasn’t already been given. Little did I know it was already in the works, and even other managers wanted to move me to their team. In the end it is about selling yourself and your contributions to the company. Ask and you may receive. So have a voice and let your hard work be known.

I hope the lessons I have learned can be beneficial to at least one person who reads this. It’s a tough world out there but we can make the best of it.

Happy Monday! Here’s to my last day of being 23!

4 comments

  1. Happy Monday! Great post and great advice! I need to start speaking up whenever I get the opportunity.

    -Vogue&Heels
    vogueandheels.com

Leave a Reply

